Justice of the Peace

The Office of Justice of the Peace originated in England and was brought to this country by the early colonists. The office existed in Connecticut in some form from the beginning of the colony.

Justices of the Peace:
  • General oath giving powers (Connecticut General Statute Section 1-24)
  • May join persons in marriage (Connecticut General Statute Section 46b-22)
  • May take acknowledgments (Connecticut General Statute Section 1-29)
  • May take depositions (Connecticut General Statute Section 52-148c)
There are also many statutory grants of power regarding specific documents.

Ledyard Justices of the Peace
Ledyard is permitted 36 Justices of the Peace. Each major party (Democrat and Republican) are allotted 12 selections each, and those individuals must be endorsed by their respective parties. There are 12 positions for unaffiliated voters. For a short period, unaffiliated voters are allowed to apply to become a justice. Justices must then come into the Town Clerk's Office to be sworn in and to prepare a signature card for filing. This card shows not only their legal signature but shows their term of office. The Town Clerk prepares a list of justices. View the present listing of Justices of the Peace (PDF). A handbook is given to the Justice. This book shows what duties they may perform and also contains a few samples of marriage ceremonies.

To learn more about the duties of, and how to become, a Justice of the Peace, Connecticut has placed the Justice of the Peace Manual online (PDF).